Sub Structures


The Akontombra Area Council is the second of the two Area Councils. It has an estimated population of 36,400. Communities in the Area Council includes, Akontombra, Yamfo, Edewuakrom, Esaase, Tanokrom, Bokaso, Bohomoden, Aburonehia, Bronikrom and Bawakrom.

 The predominant economic activity in the Area Council is Cocoa and Rice farming. It hosts some business such us hotels, Fuel stations, Banks, Educational institutions and other small scale business services.

The Area Council has its main market day on Fridays.


The Nsawora Area Council is one of the two Area Councils of the Sefwi Akontombra District Assembly. The Area Council is the largest in the District and shares boundaries with the Akontombra Area Council and Sefwi Wiawso Muncipal Assembly. It covers an area of  sqkm.

The Area Council has an estimated population of 67,600 according to the 2010 population census.

The boundary from the current office location moves through the Wansampo Community, through Besibema, Nkwadum, Fawokabra,Pekyi, then to Nsawora which is the Capitol. It moves unto Bopa Junction, Asiekrom, Kofikrom and finally to Ayisakrom communities which borders the Sefwi Wiawso Muncipal Assembly.

The Nsawora Area Council has contributed immensely to the economic development of the District. The dominant economic activity within the Area Council is Cocoa farming and Lumbering. This is due to the fact that majority of the communities are located within the forest zone. It also hosts some businesses such as, grocery shops, fuel stations, hotels, banks and educational institutions.

The Area Council has its main market day on Thursday. Due to the proximity to the Regional Capital, Sefwi Wiawso, the market day averagely causes a hike of about 500 persons increase in the areas population. These persons from all walks of life come to transact business relating education, industrial and majorly, commercial activities.